APPOINTMENT OF THE CABINET

Reporting Officer: Head of Democratic Services

INFORMATION

Upon the recommendations of the Leader of the Council, Council is asked to appoint the Cabinet in accordance with the provisions in the Constitution. Upon appointment, the Cabinet and Cabinet Members can exercise their executive powers and responsibilities as set out in the Council's Constitution (Article 7).

In addition to the Cabinet, the Leader has the constitutional authority to appoint Cabinet Assistants. Whilst they cannot make executive decisions, the Leader may make arrangements for their roles and responsibilities to assist Cabinet Members in the delivery of the Cabinet's business, priorities and policies.

RECOMMENDATION: That for 2009/10 Council approves that the Cabinet comprise of 10 Members and that following Cabinet portfolios be approved and Members be appointed to them as set out below:

Position/Portfolio	Councillor
Leader of the Council	Councillor Ray Puddifoot
Deputy Leader	Councillor David Simmonds
Cabinet Member for Co-ordination and Central Services	Councillor Scott Seaman-Digby
Cabinet Member for Culture, Sport and Leisure	Councillor Henry Higgins
Cabinet Member for Education and Children's	Councillor David Simmonds
Services	
Cabinet Member for Environment	Councillor Sandra Jenkins
Cabinet Member for Finance and Business	Councillor Jonathan Bianco
Services	
Cabinet Member for Improvement, Partnerships	Councillor Douglas Mills
and Community Safety	
Cabinet Member for Planning and Transportation	Councillor Keith Burrows
Cabinet Member for Social Services, Health and Housing	Councillor Philip Corthorne